Traditions

  IMG_1779_2

December 26, 2014 — Tradition and ritual are cornerstones of human culture.  They enrich our lives beyond measure.

My wife is 100 percent Finnish.  Within her family’s rich Christmas tradition was a braided yellow egg bread called nisu.  For years as we traveled around the world for various military assignments, her mother would send us nisu in time for the holidays. In time it became part of our family tradition.

Unfortunately, nisu dries out quickly and it often arrived in too poor a condition to fully enjoy.  The solution, since I like to bake, was to learn how to make it myself.

IMG_1769_2

I asked for and received hand written baking instructions from my wife’s mother.

Try as I might, I could never get my nisu to turn out the same way twice.  Of course, I soul searched. What was I doing wrong?  Before long I realized that I was making a different mistake every year.  Whether is was inconsistent dough or runny frosting, it was always something.

Now you have to understand that the preparation process for nisu, from the first cracked egg to the perfect comfort food, takes more than six hours.  Baking nisu is not for the impatient.  Since being impatient is one of my great virtues, the recipe for disaster wasn’t scribbled on paper.  I was me.

One year my wife and I discussed how I might be more consistent.  (We’re  talking Six Sigma project here; and yes I am Six Sigma certified.)  So, as a reward for my annual failures I got the best Christmas present I’ve ever received and still have.  What guy gets a KitchenAid mixer for Christmas and is over the moon?  Yours truly, that’s who.

IMG_1767_2The mixer’s a beast.  With its industrial strength motor and metal armor, the thing must weigh 25 lbs.  I’d even bet you could bolt it on the front of your Jeep and use it for a winch!  I love it!  The best part about it is this:  Unlike my arms, it doesn’t get tired. As an added bonus, it also has the patience of Job.

IMG_1770_2

With the dough hook firmly attached, my KitchenAid kneads bread dough all day – and night if needed.  The dough now comes out the same each and every time.  Yea!!!  Now to fix operator head space and all my baking problems would disappear.

 IMG_1772_2 IMG_1773

Nisu has to rise no less than thrice for 90 minutes each time.  Add 45 minutes for mixing the ingredients, plus the time to roll it out and braid the two loaves, and it adds up to a honking long time.

I used to get up at 2 a.m. to have nisu ready in time to open the presents Christmas morning.  Now that there are no children at home, I make nisu Christmas Eve starting just after lunch in order to have it ready by seven in the evening when we score the loot … I mean open our presents.

IMG_1778_2

Baking time is 35 minutes in a 350*F oven.  Cinnamon and sugar are sprinkled on the raw dough. The frosting, walnuts, almonds and cherries are applied right after baking so that the bread can be eaten warm.  It’s excellent on the second day too.  After day two, not so much.

IMG_1779_2

I hope your rituals and traditions are as rewarding as preparing and munching down on fresh nisu.  Hauskaa Joulua!

9 thoughts on “Traditions

  1. Wish we could join you! As to who is over the moon about receiving a Kitchenaid stand mixer for Christmas, I know two people. Our son and his fiancee received a mixer from her parents yesterday. And yes, they are both very excited! He’s been leading a pretty simple life in his very small base “apartment.” She’s been in a student rental in Ann Arbor as she finishes her grad degree. They’ve been very patient, four years already engaged, as they wait for their wedding and home together next summer. The mixer is more than either could live with right now, but it’s a lovely symbol of their future together.

    Like

  2. Six sigma, eh? 🙂

    I am also in love my Kitchenaid mixer. I ordered one for us several years ago. Melanie wondered why we need that on the counter. Now, it holds a prominent and respected position of authority.

    If you go to the WordPress help url and type in recipe. You get a page that shows how to enter a recipe in a printable format. http://en.support.wordpress.com/?s=recipe
    If you need help, I can answer some questions on how it works. I have one in my post today.

    Caramel Layer Squares


    You can bake these for some added calories if the nisu doesn’t give you enough.

    I had fun reading this. I empathized a lot. I do some baking. Lately, my breads have not been consistently turning out. I will keep trying.

    Like

    • I love my mixer. It’s bloody tank! I’ll learn how to properly post a recipe. I bought all thee “WordPress for Dummies” books because I really want to develop a website that can host multiple blogs. That way I can end certain ones when the adventure is over without losing my readers. Please be patient through the growing pains and time off to write my e-book and for various adventures like the one i’m doing in March when I’ll be a Ridge Runner in the role of assisting new hikers in Georgia.

      Like

    • BTW, Six Sigma is a process control protocol that seeks to reduce the error rate in any given process to < one in 5 million. In other words, figure out how to do it right, then do it exactly the same way every time.

      Like

Leave a comment